Face the Facts with Clarisonic

28 Nov

With the holidays rapidly approaching, I find it difficult to stay on top of my basic beauty needs; especially since my skin is the first thing I neglect at the onset of holiday mayhem. This year however, I vowed to keep my proprieties in check with proper hydration, exfoliation, (and advanced technology!)

After reading several reviews on twitter, I decided to further investigate the Clarisonic to uncover what all the hype was about; turns out, not only did it cure my winter skin woes, but it’s quite possibly the best investment in beauty I’ve ever made!

I opted for the Clarisonic Mia which is the basic, and least expensive model. It cost me $140 at Sephora, although prices vary between $119 – $149 depending on features such as speed and brush heads. Despite it’s simplistic design, the one-button, one-speed Mia particularly appealed to me because it’s the most compact of the Clarisonic variety. It is cordless, waterproof, portable, and has a battery-life of about 5 days which makes it perfect for a weekend getaway.

featuredimage_18_gray_660x386

Clarisonic Mia in “Graphite.”

The company website provides insight into the science of sonic cleansing.

Here’s how it works:

Clarisonic cleanses the skin 6x more effectively than by manual cleansing which allows toners, moisturizers and other serums to absorb into the skin more effectively. This is because skin circulation is properly stimulated by means of micro-massaging, facilitating the removal of dirt, oil and makeup from pores. Using a similar patented-technology as the Soniccare toothbrush, it massages the skin at a sonic frequency of about 300 movements per second! Now this is what I call cutting-edge technology ūüėČ

Initially, I was skeptical about the brand considering there were so many other (cheaper) options that claimed to do the exact same thing. However, I instantly noticed Clarisonic’s precision and efficiency through its T-Timer, a pulsing feature that signifies when it’s time to cleanse the next area of your face. My package also included the brush-head for ‘normal’ skin types which I find powerful enough to clean oily skin, yet gentle enough to avoid irritation. Clarisonic suggests that you change the brush-head every 3-4 months based on your individual skin needs and frequency of use.

To maximize results in the most natural way, I use it to refresh with a red-wine facial, or post-exfoliation with a natural face scrub like this Bombay cleanser from the Green Beauty Team:

  • 1-2 tablespoons of oatmeal (or colloidal oatmeal)
  • 1-2¬†teaspoons of witch hazel
  • a¬†few drops of water

Dampen the oatmeal then, add the witch hazel and a few drops of water to make it moist. Apply to face with a upward and outward circular motion. Splash with lots of warm water, removing all surface dirt. This recipe can be adapted for all skin types; if your skin is extra dry, add a little vegetable oil.

Green Beauty Teams’ DIY Scrub Recipe for Dry Skin

 

The¬†Sonic Skin Cleansing Systems approach has dramatically changed the texture of my skin like never before! I highly recommend the Clarisonic and honestly believe it’s worth every penny.

I’d love to hear about any of your experiences with this fabulous product.

– Lina

2 Responses to “Face the Facts with Clarisonic”

  1. Seanna December 5, 2012 at 10:29 AM #

    This product sounds amazing! I love how you really don’t need any cleanser and the brush does all the work! To get great results and reduce the amount of products I use is good news to me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bringing the Spa Home | Oceans & Potions - January 10, 2013

    […] many fantastic homemade face masks that are simple to make¬†such as¬†the gentle exfoliating oatmeal Bombay Cleanser or the soothing Red Wine Facial.¬†For occasions like this though, or when we want to splurge a […]

Leave a Reply

