Back to Basics: Spotlight on Sweet Almond Oil

2 Jan

If you’re like me, every January you make desperate attempts at keeping your resolutions; whether it’s scheduling midnight training sessions at your local gym, or tossing *all* of the beauty products in your cabinet in order to enforce your new toxin-free regime. I now realize this approach is excessive and guaranteed to result in failure. The main reason is because impractical changes in your routine occur suddenly, without much thought or preparation. Hence, the inspiration behind the first installment of what Seanna and I call the ‘Spotlight’ series.

The objective of these posts will be to examine natural ingredients at a basic level. Our particular aim is to discuss the practical use of our feature item in terms of natural beauty – i.e. the origins, degrees of purity, and potential for long-term health and vitality. I’ll kick things off with my personal introduction to the world of clean beauty – Sweet Almond Oil (SAO):

Profile – Sweet Almond Oil, (Prunus dulcis or Prunus amygdalus in Latin), native to the Middle East, extending to the Mediterranean region and warm climates in the United States. As an essential oil this nut is a rich source of Vitamin E and D, making it ideal for nourishing the majority of skin types. 100% Sweet Almond oil is typically cold-pressed and contains the following properties:

Sweet Almond Oil by Aromaforce

Sweet Almond Oil by Aromaforce

Specifications
Color- Golden
Odor- Faint and characteristic
Free Fatty Acids- 0.06
Peroxide Value- 0.5
Non-Saponifiables- 0.6
Saponification Value-192
Iodine Value- 102
Specific Gravity- 0.913
pH- 4.63

Fatty Acids
Oleic- 57.5%
Palmitic- 5.6%
Linoleic- 22.8%
Linolenic- 0.1%
Stearic- 2.5%

Use – SAO has a number of benefits and can be applied virtually anywhere on the body. Here are some of the ways I use this oil:

  • Massage into hair after shower to boost shine and stimulate growth
  • Apply to face, especially under eyes to get rid of dark circles and enchance complexion
  • Slather on body to smooth dry skin and irritation
  • Smooth onto chapped lips to mosterize and/or as a subtle and safe lipgloss
  • Treat muscle tension by massaging onto sprained or inflammed tissue
  • … and my personal favourite – to remove makeup before bedtime

My Experience – Throughout university, I used to purchase eye make-up removers that would irritate my eyes to the point of tears (as if I didn’t have assignments and deadlines to cry about!) I would constantly disregard the contents of commercial removers because I did not have any known allergies or sensitivities to chemical substances. Then I found a bottle of my Aunt’s almond oil from Bulgaria. After I experienced the gentle and nourishing effects of Sweet Almond Oil and how it removed *everything* from my lids, I never looked back!

SAO helped cure my blues from a ski accident last February

SAO Aromatheraphy helped cure my blues from a ski injury

Buying it I typically purchase the 250ml of Aromaforce, but have also been happy with brands like Aura Cacia and Now. I daresay, after having used it for many years I’ve even noticed my lashes have grown a little longer and thicker.

So instead of making drastic and impractical changes this year, keep it simple by taking it back to the basics. You can effectively ‘resolve’ your bad habits through small, seemingly-trivial changes in your routine because they allow you to gradually transition into an alternative lifestyle. Just remember to keep your priorities in check, and take it one day at a time 🙂

Wishing you all a very happy and prosperous 2013!

– Lina

Leave a Reply

