Limited Edition Makeup Collection: ‘Me Encanta’ by Alima Pure

6 Jan

Happy New Year Natural Beauties! I love this time of year. I always feel refreshed and ready to take on new challenges, channel creative energy, and create focus for the road ahead. I have made a few major goals, one of which is to approach everything I do with passion and purpose–even in the smallest things. I received something recently that reminded me of this goal and I wanted to start my 2014 posts by telling you about it. Let me introduce you to a very special limited edition makeup collection: Me Encanta by Alima Pure

Alima Pure's Limited Edition 'Me Encanta'

Alima Pure’s Limited Edition Me Encanta

When Kristen Arnett, international makeup artist, and the lovelies at Alima Pure sent me the Me Encanta collection, I was impressed. The collection is so much more than a combination of pretty colours and was inspired by Kristen’s recent trip to Spain. There, she was inspired by the flamenco dancers who as she says, “were pure feminine power and beauty” and expressed a story with every movement. The dancers channeled deep emotion and possessed many opposing characteristics; strength and softness, femininity and masculinity, colour and darkness. It was with this in mind that she created a collection that can be worn in many different ways and for many different skin tones, so that each woman can express her own juxtoposing characteristics and moods. For this very reason, I called up my ‘Bestie’ (who happens to possess features opposite from me) to share in this makeup adventure. We followed Kristen’s tutorials for both the ‘chic’ look and ‘sultry’ look. (As much as we loved the sultry smokey eye on Kristen’s model, it was a bit much for both of us and we opted to stick with the ‘chic’ look that uses delicate, soft definition with subtle colour).

Lina and Me wearing Alima Pure's Me Encanta collection

Me and Lina wearing Alima Pure’s Me Encanta collection

I was a bit hesitant at first to use the deep blue Flamenco eyeshadow since I usually stay away from such bold colours on my fair features, but I was delighted to find that the rich colour really made my eyes ‘pop’ without harkening back to that 80’s look we would all like to forget. It was also interesting to see how different the shades appeared on my skin tone compared to Lina’s. It took far less Pink Satin Matte Blush on my cheeks than hers to get that muted glow, but the tone worked beautifully on both of us. Same with the Sombra Contour Powder, which I was happy to see did not leave me looking like Malibu Barbie.

Alima Pure 'Me Encanta" collection: Sombra, Flamenco, Pink

Alima Pure Me Encanta collection: ‘Pink’ Satin Matte Blush, ‘Flamenco’ Eyeshadow, ‘Sombra’ Matte Contour Powder

The Me Encanta collection includes:

Baila Lip Tint- warm burnt red

Pink Satin Matte Blush- soft muted pink

Sombra Contour Powder- sandy brown

Flamenco Limited Edition Eyeshadow- deep rich blue

Black Natural Definition Mascara- separating and lengthening

The collection is available exclusively at Alima Pure for US $50.00 ($86.50 value)

Alima Pure Balia Lip Tint

Alima Pure ‘Baila’ Lip Tint

The Baila Lip Tint was definitely our favourite. The warm, burnt red worked perfectly for both my fair complexion and Lina’s olive skin tone. We actually couldn’t stop applying it (and licking our lips) because it is so creamy and moisturizing–and tastes like chocolate (thanks to the cocoa butter)!

Me Encanta can mean “it sings to me” which is a beautiful description of this collection. Be inspired to try new things this year, maybe even some new looks and products too! And as you go about your year let the things around you ‘sing to you’ as you experience their beauty and as you express your own beauty to the world!

Happy New Year! What are your goals and aspirations for 2014?

2 Responses to “Limited Edition Makeup Collection: ‘Me Encanta’ by Alima Pure”

  1. yoginiforever January 7, 2014 at 9:41 PM #

    Are these products only available for purchased online or are there retail stores that carry them?

Leave a Reply

