Joyous Health: Eat & Live Well without Dieting- Giveaway (Closed)

5 Feb

Congrats to the winner of the Joyous Health giveaway (you have been emailed 😉 )! I am so overjoyed (no pun intended) and thankful for all of your responses! You have truly impressed me with your daily healthy habits and have even inspired me to try some new things! Much Love, xx

Hi Beauties!

I have a very special post for you this week and it involves someone whose work I have admired for quite some time: Toronto-based Holistic Nutritionist, Joy McCarthy. Joy has just launched her new book called, Joyous Health: Eat & Live Well without Dieting and I am so excited to share it with you!

New book by Joy McCarthy, CNP, RNCP

New book by Joy McCarthy, CNP, RNCP

I usually write about all sorts of products and concoctions for beautiful, radiant skin, but I would be lying if I said that you can get beautiful skin without a good diet. No number of lotions and potions will aid your skin if you are putting junk into your body.

Joy’s Eat & Live Well without Dieting lifestyle is a fantastic one, and is truly sustainable (I ranted about my need for sustainable systems last week!). It will teach you how to think about food in a whole new light (diet free!). The seven chapter book is divided into two sections: practical tips for a healthy lifestyle, and recipes. The first half is a very thorough, yet easy- to- read background on what a ‘Joyous’ lifestyle encompasses, covering topics such as food & supplements for mood, getting your digestion on track, and habits to live a healthy & balanced life. The second half offers eighty recipes that you can start incorporating into your daily routine.

The book is designed for a six week lifestyle makeover; working through each chapter and making at least one positive change a week.

“Your skin completely renews itself every twenty-eight days. Therefore, food is literally the raw materials from which we create new cells.”

Joyous habits that I have adopted making me glow from the inside out:

  1. Drinking lemon & water every morning: One half of freshly squeezed lemon in warm water first thing in the morning is extremely detoxifying and will get your digestive system going.
  2. Increasing my veggie intake by 1000% 🙂 (or by a lot): I aim to have at least two meals per day with half of my plate full of vegetable so that I get a great dose of minerals and vitamins, as well as keep my blood sugar balanced.
  3. Eating more superfoods: There is a reason everyone is talking about these. Superfoods are jam packed with nutrients, so why not incorporate them into our daily diets? I love adding spirulina, maca, chia, kale, or raw cacao into my daily smoothies. Joy puts it in a good way; why take a multivitamin, when you can just drink one instead?

“A healthy glow is a result of a detoxified body.”

I have tried a number of recipes from Joy’s book, but one of my favorites is the Chewy Almond Butter Cookies. Sugar has always been my kryptonite (as I am sure it is for many), but it also wreaks havoc on the body and as a result, the skin! These cookies are perfect for the afternoon slump when you find yourself reaching for that chocolate bar.

Chewy Almond Butter Cookies, p. 219

Chewy Almond Butter Cookies, p. 219

Joy’s book is currently available in Canada at stores and online, and will be available in the U.S. soon (currently available for pre-order).

I wanted to spread the joyous love and share a copy with one lucky reader! Just follow the instructions below for your chance to win this inspiring book!

In the comment section below, answer the following question:

“What healthy habits have you incorporated into your daily routine to make your skin glow?”

  • Contest closes February 10, 2014, one winner will be chosen at random on February 11th.
  • All Canadian and U.S. residents eligible to enter.

Make sure to share this post on Twitter and Facebook to get everyone inspired to eat well and live well!

– Seanna

47 Responses to “Joyous Health: Eat & Live Well without Dieting- Giveaway (Closed)”

  1. Christina ossorio I February 5, 2014 at 8:20 PM #

    First thing in the morning I usually have a cold press juice with kale, apple and lemon. I also take Cod liver oil, borage seed oil and probiotics supplements. It has helped my skin keep a healthy glow!

  2. Joy Mills (@Jemrah1) February 6, 2014 at 10:59 AM #

    Nothing dramatic – I just think drinking lots of tap water throughout the day, and staying hydrated is great for my skin.

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 12:10 PM #

      Drinking water is the best thing you can do!

  3. Jennifer February 6, 2014 at 11:01 AM #

    I drink a lot of lemon water and use coffee grounds to exfoliate once a week! Simple but they work!

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 12:10 PM #

      Coffee grounds are so good to stimulate the skin! I love mixing them with coconut oil for a little added moisture.

  4. Bonnie February 6, 2014 at 11:03 AM #

    Staying well hydrated by drinking water is one way to keep the skin glowing.

  5. Lindsay February 6, 2014 at 11:13 AM #

    I have started taking omega 3 (genuine health’s calm+joy), taking probiotics to start glowing from the inside out, as well as incorporating more detoxifying foods like lemon water into my diet.

  6. jueall February 6, 2014 at 11:13 AM #

    I start my day with 2 cups of hot water lemon juice.

  7. Naiome February 6, 2014 at 11:25 AM #

    To drink at least 4 cups of green tea everyday

  8. Nikky February 6, 2014 at 11:46 AM #

    I absolutely love Joy as well! Some healthy habits I’ve incorporated into my daily routine would have to be #1: GREEN juices! I’ve been juicing almost everyday. #2: a good probiotic (recommended at one of Joy’s seminars I went to) and #3: Healthy fats like fish (salmon or sardines), avocado and hemp hearts (good for protein too). I shall tweet and share this giveaway as well 😀 xoxo

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 12:08 PM #

      Thanks for sharing! Love all of your healthy habits! I too started probiotics because of Joy- makes such a difference.

  9. Elaine A (TOBeautyReviews) February 6, 2014 at 11:58 AM #

    I’ve been trying to have a cup of hot water first thing every morning. I will try it with the lemon though!

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 12:05 PM #

      It’s a great little ‘jolt’ in the morning! 🙂 plus an added dose of Vitamin C, which is much needed at this time of year!

  10. Anonymous February 6, 2014 at 12:01 PM #

    Probably because my mom grew up on a farm growing her own food, I grew up in a household where in the summer we grew our own food and preserved the extra food we grew for the winter. Junk food was always a treat and not part of our regular diets.As an aside, I remember my brother and I having to split a Happy Meal at McDonald’s when we finally convinced our parents to take us. I don’t have any memories of my mom “on a diet”.

    In my life today, I do not feel the need to diet. If I feel like I need to shed a few pounds, I go out for lunches or dinners less and try and get more active – to me a healthy lifestyle seems like a no brainier!

  11. Catherine Solmes February 6, 2014 at 12:09 PM #

    A few things I’ve done in recent months to improve my health and skin:
    I’ve made a moisturizer using coconut oil and vitamin E oil which I use around my eyes and on my face. I use just coconut oil as a moisturizer on my body.

    I’ve been using a mix of unfiltered, organic apple cider vinegar and water as a toner on my face. It helps to exfoliate and balance the pH of my skin.

    As well, I’ve been drinking 2 tbsp unfiltered, organic apple cider vinegar in a glass of water with a bit of honey three times a day. It has whitened my teeth, freshened my breath, improved my energy (no more need of caffeine), improved my skin tone, lessened my appetite and improved my digestion. I crave the drink now so clearly it’s doing good things for my body.

    Catherine (www.beautysquared.blogspot.com)

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 12:15 PM #

      Great habits! I might try the honey with acv, I have always opted for lemon because of the taste, but maybe I just need a little sweetness 🙂

  12. Leslie Flynn February 6, 2014 at 12:23 PM #

    I think my morning beverage of hot lemon and cayenne water plus my use of coconut oil as a moisturizer has improved my skin more than anything else!

  13. Stephanie February 6, 2014 at 12:29 PM #

    I start my day with lemon water, too – I add a little raw honey and some chia seeds! Yum…but using warm water sounds so comforting for the winter! I’ll have to try that tomorrow!
    My main food resolution for 2014 has been to have a green smoothie every day – lots of kale/spinach, half an avocado, almond milk, and some fruit! I don’t like eating raw greens so this has really helped, and my skin is happy too. Other than that, I take omega 3s and add whatever superfood I’m feeling to the smoothie of the day!

  14. Elizabeth February 6, 2014 at 12:42 PM #

    I have been drinking a glass of warm lemon water first thing in the morning and have been using a honey mask on my face a couple of times a week.

  15. catherine Moloney February 6, 2014 at 12:52 PM #

    I have incorporated many of Joy’s healthy practices into my daily routine for a few years now: lemon and water every morning; “Super Smoothies” for breakfast; being conscious of not ingesting refined sugars, too much caffeine, dairy, gluten, and alcohol (although I do love a glass of wine!). I have replaced those with many of Joy’s suggested foods. I love going to our local farmer’s market and other produce markets in the summer and fall – lots of variety, and fresh tastes best.
    I also do a lot of deep breathing which really helps my ‘whole’ self and I try to get 7 hours minimum, of sleep each night. I am looking into more skin care products that have minimal toxic ingredients.
    Add to all that Pilates 2x/week, yoga and walking as often and much as possible and of course trying to keep a positive and balanced attitude to life.
    My lifestyle has evolved into this healthier way over time. It really hit home when I was diagnosed with DCIS (a precancerous state) in my breast. I wanted to ensure that my body and mind were strong and in a healthy state to undergo surgery and radiation. I worked with a women’s health care provider who is on the same page as Joy.
    It’s a matter of deciding what is important and then the changes happen more easily and naturally. I couldn’t be happier with my healthy body and mind at this stage of my life! 🙂

    • oceanspotions February 6, 2014 at 1:43 PM #

      That’s so fantastic! I love hearing stories like yours!

  16. Tara February 6, 2014 at 12:55 PM #

    I bought a vitamix and now make delicious smoothies every day to help me get enough fruits and veggies! I’m hoping to see that better eating leads to healthier skin.

  17. Jasmine February 6, 2014 at 1:02 PM #

    I have a glass of room temperature water with lemon every morning. This is followed by green tea mid-morning. I avoid sugar as much as possible and take probiotics to help out my immune and digestive system. 🙂

  18. Julie February 6, 2014 at 3:47 PM #

    I always have a green juice in the morning, but I have also started using coconut oil as a facial moisturizer and I love it! It is so cold and dry here in the winter, but I have been smooth and flake-free thanks to this miracle cure!

  19. LoveLezlie February 6, 2014 at 4:53 PM #

    The healthy habits that I’ve included to make my skin glow is drinking enough water daily (from the time I wake up until about two hours before bed). I also take a great vegan multi-vitman and I use organic coconut oil on my face after I wash it in the morning and before bed. I try to stay away from processed sugar, though it’s my kryptonite as you mentioned. And I eat my veggies daily. I guess that about sums it up. People often compliment me on my skin so it must be working. Thanks for the post!

  20. Jen February 6, 2014 at 5:34 PM #

    Love your blog Seanna ! You turned me on the Joy’s blog and I have been definitely incorporating the lemon water in the morning and we have been experimenting with new recipes and ingredients. For my skin while I am using some no-no products on thing I have added is rose water toner and rose hip oil. They both were suggestions from your blog and they seem to be working well 🙂 Thanks again Seanna!!

  21. Anita February 6, 2014 at 5:40 PM #

    Joy has been a big encouragement for me in the pursuit of optimum health! One thing I have learned from Joy, that I have incorporated into my life to improve my skin, is to do dry body brushing. It exfoliates dead skin cells and stimulates the lymphatic system which helps the body detoxify and strengthens the immune system. Once you get used to it, it actually feels quite invigorating. 🙂
    http://www.joyoushealth.ca/blog/2010/06/15/dry-skin-brushing-for-glow-immune-health/

  22. Chani February 6, 2014 at 6:08 PM #

    Drinking lots of water and sweating once a day!

  23. Cindy Reichle February 6, 2014 at 7:11 PM #

    I use rosehip seed oil on my face and take hemp seed oil daily in my smoothies. Healthy oils=healthy, glowing skin!

    • oceanspotions February 7, 2014 at 9:03 AM #

      I agree, I cannot get enough of those healthy oils! I am a huge fan of rosehip.

  24. jeanette February 6, 2014 at 10:45 PM #

    I am a big fan of Joy’s and over time have incorporated much of her advice into my daily routines (e.g., lemon water, body brushing, lots of greens!) I try to eat as clean as I can most of the time, but every once in a while I indulge in a little dirty food (e.g., cheese or sugar) and inevitably end up with a blemish on my face. One day I decided to try lavender oil on a blemish and voila…it was gone! (well not instantly, but sooner rather than later!)

  25. antonetta meolla February 6, 2014 at 11:14 PM #

    My sweet tooth craving is now raw cocoa with hot water. So yummy

  26. Hayley February 7, 2014 at 8:44 AM #

    Great review! I’ve been wanting to read this book. I drink a lot of water, often with lemon added, and have a yoga practice which really keeps me glowing. I also love green juice 🙂

  27. Connie February 7, 2014 at 9:55 AM #

    Must acquire Chewy Almond Butter Cookies recipe immediately!

  28. Laura February 7, 2014 at 11:16 AM #

    I drink a ton of water, drink organic mint tea, eat a lot of avocado and have replaced most of my face-cleaning products with all-natural versions (coconut oil make-up remover, apple cider vinegar toner).

  29. Paula M February 7, 2014 at 11:56 AM #

    Water & lemon or a green smoothie in the morning, lots of veggies, and my own skincare concoctions. I guess I am in the right track! Thanks for sharing these tips. It looks like a great book!

  30. mariana balaceanu February 7, 2014 at 12:59 PM #

    I started to use Argan oil on my hair after shower and Rosehip oil every night to massage my skin and neck. The results are amasing: my hair has a pleasant shine and a healthy touch. My skin is very well hydrated without being oily.

  31. Michelle M February 7, 2014 at 4:35 PM #

    Drink lemon water, green tea, exfoliate and hydrate.

  32. Elena February 7, 2014 at 5:08 PM #

    Thanks to Joy I’ve incorporated so many healthy habits into my daily routine that have made my skin glow. I definitely start my days with my lemon water (ACV in water if I’m out of lemons), use dry brush before I shower, wash my hair with the shampoo she’s recommended, moisturize my body with coconut oil, use moisturizer with spf (the Hungarian brand she recommended ;), if I don’t have my green juice I have lots of veggies with every meal, take my vitamin d, omegas, probiotics (or kefir); do my yoga stretches and breathing even if for 10 mins; drink coconut water, tea and plenty of H2O.

  33. Leanne February 7, 2014 at 10:32 PM #

    Cutting out processed sugars and drinking green or herbal tea instead of coffee has really helped to make me glow, and of course always keeping hydrated with lots of water.

    P.S. I love Joy’s Tips!

  34. Christina February 8, 2014 at 6:28 PM #

    I start my day with lemon water and drink lots of tea!

  35. Diane morgan February 9, 2014 at 1:34 AM #

    I drink lemon water,honey,cayenne pepper, and cinnamon every day and drink lots green tea!

  36. Amber February 10, 2014 at 11:44 AM #

    I got rid of the dairy and make sure to drink enough water throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

