Is stress causing your acne?

12 May

I have a little story to share with you–one that started about 6 months ago. Starting around November last fall I had a number of circumstances that were causing me a lot stress. I was maintaining my current workload while taking on more work and new challenges. I would experience prolonged episodes of stress– to the point where my chest would constrict, breathing would get heavy, and it could take up to an hour for symptoms to subside. If anyone has experienced this before, you know that symptoms can persist well after the stress trigger has past; leaving the body to constantly pump out stress hormones (epinephrine and cortisol) which in any normal ‘fight or flight’ situation allows your body to function optimally. For me, my body had become so accustomed to this state of stress that any minor daily occurrence could trigger symptoms at any time during the day.

If you are finding that you have persistent breakouts (especially painful cysts along your jaw), you are eating a ‘clean’ diet (low in processed foods and high in plants),  and you are using all natural products, than you may want to take a look at your stress level and investigate how it’s affecting your hormones.

Acne affects both our mental and physical state and it takes a lot of patience and self love to heal. After many weeks of anxiety and frustration over what I saw in the mirror, and having no other ‘remedies’ left in my arsenal to try, I finally went to visit a naturopathic doctor.

My doctor confirmed what I had already suspected: my body’s chronic state of stress had affected my hormones (which are  triggers for acne). I would do a great disservice to the workings of the body and to the medical field if I were to try and expand on the details of this exchange. What I can say though is this: of all of the terrible effects we know stress has on our bodies, hormone imbalance is one of them and it takes a lot of patience and the proper healing supplements to reverse its affects.

Estrosense, supplement for hormone balance

EstroSense, supplement for hormone balance

I was prescribed the following supplements for my treatment plan:

  • Daily high does of EPA (fish oil) with primrose and borage oil
  • EstroSense – this is not a hormone replacer but contains Indole 3 Carbinol which is a compound found in cruciferous vegetables and aids the body’s hormone metabolizing function
  • RelaxMax – this is a neurotransmitter and hormone support supplement that helps the body stand up to stress

****This is what was prescribed for me based on my body, diet, and symptoms, but please speak to someone before spending money and taking supplements that may not work or may not be right for your body. ****

I have begun to see improvements since starting this treatment plan, and I will certainly keep you updated on how it goes.

I want to give people hope when it comes to acne. Most often than not, it is our body’s way of telling us that something is not right internally and we need to heal it gently. . . not wage war with harsh chemicals and drugs.

Be well xx

Seanna

4 Responses to “Is stress causing your acne?”

  1. Jade May 12, 2014 at 11:43 AM #

    Love this Seanna. Stress has definitely had a big influence on my acne, despite a vegetable-filled diet and one summer, juices everyday. I also get those periods where my chest constricts and breathing gets difficult 😦 But as of late, I’ve been trying to chill out and let go more–still working on meditation, but yoga, sleeping relatively early, and making time for myself has definitely been helping. Interested to see how the supplements help. Good luck for you!

    • oceanspotions May 12, 2014 at 5:24 PM #

      I definitely agree, you definitely cannot underestimate the benefits of relaxation and self-care.Thank you Jade for your kind and thoughtful comment!

  2. Amber Karlson May 13, 2014 at 11:14 AM #

    I’ve always been acne prone, but majority of my acne came back a few years ago during a really stressful time in my life. I no longer lead a stressful lifestyle but I am going to give these a try!

    • oceanspotions May 13, 2014 at 4:02 PM #

      It has definitely helped me and worth a try if it’s hormonal. As with any herbal supplement it takes some time to kick in, but I began to see improvements in about 2-3 weeks! EstroBlock is another popular brand but harder to get in Canada. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

